The Buchanan Medal (1897)

This award is made biennially (in even years) in recognition of distinguished contribution to the medical sciences generally. The silver gilt medal is accompanied by a gift of £1000.

Previous winners include:

1998 Barry Marshall
1996 Norman Ashton
1994 David Weatherall
1992 Denis Burkitt
1990 Cyril Clarke


Royal Society I News & Media I Events Diary I Grants & Funding I Science for all I Science Policy I Library I Publications I Facilities I Fellows Room I Search I Home
. Menu

Objectives and President's Anniversary Address

Fellows and Foreign Members

Research appointment holders

Awards and Medals

Meetings and Lectures

Royal Society News

Annual Review


Project Science
The Society’s independent status and how to support us

Officers, Council members and senior managers

Academy Relations